Sunday, March 30, 2014

Image         Image

“There are times when indeed I feel that my troubles are being caused more by the difficulties that the behavior or the actions of some of my ministers, the difficulties, that sort of behavior has resulted in.”

Ultimately if I have to take more actions and it results in two persons or perhaps three persons who are in the House, resigning from the party thus triggering either bye-elections or a general election, I will simply have to do what my duty and conscience tell me I must do and live with the consequences, which will no doubt be a loss of the consequent general elections.”Dean Barrow, February, 5, 2014

Barrow in his final comments to wrap up the 2014 budget debate described the Leader of the Opposition’s review of the budget as “useless” and that Fonseca’s “intervention was one of brevity…..after all there is so much of his remarkable decibel level that normal eardrums can take.”

Barrow has pulled this cheap stunt before. If it wasn’t piteous for one gifted with the gift of gab, it would be laughable. We know exactly who those comments were intended for and if Santino Castillo was sophisticated enough, Barrow’s antics would have paid off. No one has a more “annoying decibel level and an even more irritating cadence than the member for Caribbean Shores. But there he sits behind Barrow with a mute’s grin oblivious to the Prime Minister’s aggravation.

What could be more “useless” than Sedi Elrington’s incoherent and irrelevant ramblings on the legacy of Rt. Honorable George Price? Elrington comes off as someone troubled with Alzheimer’s. Nothing could be more annoying to the eardrums than listening to Minister of Health Pablo Marin’s unscientific rebuttal to physician, member of the House Dr. Marco Mendez. Pablo Marin who historically and infamously referred to the PAHO as “a person”!

The Prime Minister is saddled with a bunch of addlebrains who have run him ragged from putting out fires. “There are times when indeed I feel that my troubles are being caused more by the difficulties that the behavior or the actions of some of my ministers, the difficulties, that sort of behavior has resulted in,” Barrow recently lamented to the media following a meeting of the House of Representatives on February 5th .

The Prime Minister’s words could barely fade from memory before Minister of Education Patrick Faber went ham on his estranged wife on his birthday on Friday March 21st. Faber went over to where his wife is now living with her mother on Gill Street after she separated from him and reportedly got into a confrontation with her. In a fit of rage, Faber threw a cement brick into the windshield of his wife’s vehicle. Faber’s hysterics were witnessed by neighbors and his two young boys who broke down crying.   

The Prime Minister could only pretend that he had no knowledge of the incident. Nice timing Faber – smack in the middle of Women’s month with none less than Kim Barrow leading the campaign for awareness…..that’s another story. Just as Barrow and the UDP was preparing to face off with the strengthening opposition, PUP in the 2014 budget debate….yeah, that’s when Patrick acts like a zoo animal.

Faber is known for losing his cool in the House with his voice mounting a couple octaves. That has to annoy Barrow. On Monday, the Speaker had to chide Faber to keep his cool. A member of the gallery called him out on his behavior. That member was immediately ejected from the House by police. Faber wasn’t made to live it down as other members hinted at his behavior much to Faber’s obvious discomfort. The report had gone viral and by day’s end, Faber was on Facebook picking fights in an effort to smother the flame or public reprobation directed at him.

“There is no doubt at all in my mind, that the scandals have threatened to swamp us, that they have threatened to cause us to come undone, and natural that is a source of great regret because to some extent, it is self-inflicted,”the Prime Minister unloaded following the February 5th House meeting. 

“I have been personally, extremely hurt,” Barrow went on, “because I at the top of the pyramid, run completely straight, and that, I believe is well-known. But, when indeed, I have to defend or appear to be defending behavior that is the opposite of straight, my personal credibility takes a great hit. So, I am distraught on behalf of my party, and I am distraught on my own behalf.”

The buffoonery and bungling of Barrow’s cabinet have weighed so heavily on the Prime Minister that, he’s become like a parent chasing after an active brood. “I’ve said to my colleagues, over and over and over again that we really need to get on top of this. I will never be able to stop people from behaving in a way that is untoward. All I can do, is to repeat my promise that when it happens, and I learn of it, I will take action. I fully understand that if it happens once, twice, thrice, 4 times, 5 times, 10 times, it doesn’t matter what action I take. It will cause my administration to come unstuck,” Barrow purged.

Barrow would much rather we believe that he has things under control but the scandals that have rocked his administration have taken a significant toll. The nation’s leading newspaper, the Amandala also called Barrow out in January. The Amandala called the PM a fool.

The Amandala said in a January edition, “Mr. Barrow had been making a lot of noise about running a tight ship after he first came to power in 2008. But he only had a 17-14 seat margin. This is now a government which really should go back to the electorate in quest of another mandate, we think. The Prime Minister will do all he can to prevent the collapse of his administration, however, and that appears to include making a public fool of himself.”

It is clear that the folks across the aisle and their decibels are not Barrow’s problem. The Prime Minister and his dimwits wish they and the people of Belize would just shut up about corruption and Barrow’s woeful attempts to make it seem as though all is well. Dean Barrow knows that he has lost all credibility.

Forced to confront his own failure as a leader, Barrow said, “Every time I take action, as I tell you am sworn to do and as I am telling you I will continue to do, there are political repercussions because of the slimness of the majority. I bear that well in mind as I take the actions that I take. Ultimately if I have to take more actions and it results in two persons or perhaps three persons who are in the House, resigning from the party thus triggering either bye-elections or a general election, I will simply have to do what my duty and conscience tell me I must do and live with the consequences, which will no doubt be a loss of the consequent general elections. I am not going to go there easily as I said, but if I have to, I will go there.”

And “not going there easily” is surely what the Prime Minister is doing. The Opposition and other organizations and sections of the media are calling on Barrow to call the elections. So never mind Barrow’s rants in the House…he is troubled by the decibels of the malcontents within his administration.